Tony Bennett : The Beat of my Heart

Tony Bennett : The Beat of my Heart


Tony Bennett (vocals), Ralph Sharon (piano, conductor), Kai Winding (trombone), Al Cohn (tenor sax), Nat Adderley (trumpet), Herbie Mann (flute), John Pisano (guitar), James Bond (bass), Eddie Safranski (bass), Eddie Costa (vibraphone), Jo Jones, Chico Hamilton, Art Blakey (drums), Sabu (drums, percussion)

recorded in 1957

Columbia CL 1079

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - Let’s Begin
A2 - Lullaby Of Broadway
A3 - Let There Be Love
A4 - Love For Sale
A5 - Army Air Corps Song
A6 - Crazy Rhythm
B1 - The Bear Of My Heart
B2 - So Beats My Heart For You
B3 - Blues In The Night
B4 - Lazy Afternoon
B5 - Let’s Face The Music And Dance
B6 - Just One Of Those Things

Recorded on June 27 and October 25, 1957 at Columbia 30th Street Studio, New York City.

The crooner Tony Bennett fulfilled a lifetime dream with this percussion jazz formation: at last he could go into the studio with the greatest drummers and top-notch jazz musicians and just swing to his heart’s content.
Chico Hamilton, Jo Jones, Art Blakey, Candido and Sabu were responsible for the beat while Kai Winding, Herbie Mann, Nat Adderley and Al Cohn took care of the background amongst other things, and such great musicians as Milt Hinton and Eddie Safranski and John Pisano tied the whole thing together.
The twelve numbers, recorded in four sessions, were arranged by pianist Ralph Sharon in a laid-back and diversified manner and allowed Tony Bennett plenty of room to swing along serenely. Should one recommend a particular title? If the answer is yes, then the 'pure' numbers with Chico Hamilton. And the rest? Yes, the good old jazz evergreens – which, however, sound quite new here. Really one could practically recommend all of them!
To be sure: this is no LP for narrow-minded jazz purists, and certainly not for lovers of the soothing crooner – but why not one for both camps?

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under