The 3 Sounds

The 3 Sounds


Gene Harris (piano), Andrew Simpkins (bass), Bill Dowdy (drums)

recorded in 1958

Blue Note BN 1600

Analogue Productions Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45 rpm)

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Tenderly
A2 - Willow Weep For Me
B1 - Both Sides
B2 - Blue Bells
C1 - It's Nice
C2 - Goin' Home
D1 - Would'n You 
D2 - O Sole Mio

Recorded on September 16 & 18, 1958 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, New Jersey.

The Three Sounds were part of the trio explosion. Begun in 1956 in Benton Harbor, Michigan as the Four Sounds and consisting of Gene Harris on piano, Andrew Simpkins on bass and Bill Dowdy on drums (the saxophonist was dropped by the time the group moved to Washington, D.C. in 1957), the Sounds eventually migrated to New York City where they were "discovered" by Lou Donaldson. After a single record for Riverside with Nat Adderley, the Three Sounds signed an exclusive contract with Alfred Lion on Blue Note Records. Over the course of five years, the Sounds released nine LPs and appeared on albums by Lou Donaldson and Stanley Turrentine.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Kevin Gray & Steve Hoffman at AcousTech, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at RTI.