The 3 Sounds : Bottoms Up!

The 3 Sounds : Bottoms Up!


Gene Harris (piano), Andrew Simpkins (bass), Bill Dowdy (drums)

recorded in 1958-1959

Blue Note 4014

Analogue Productions Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45 rpm)

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Besame Mucho

A2 - Angel Eyes

B1 - Time After Time

B2 - Love Walked In

C1 - I Could Write A Book

C2 - Jinne Lou

D1 - Nothing Ever Changes My Love For You

D2 - Falling In Love With Love

Recorded September 16 & 28, 1958 and February 11, 1959 by Rudy Van Gelder in Hackensack, New Jersey

The Three Sounds were part of the trio explosion. Begun in 1956 in Benton Harbor, Michigan as the Four Sounds and consisting of Gene Harris on piano, Andrew Simpkins on bass and Bill Dowdy on drums (the saxophonist was dropped by the time the group moved to Washington, D.C. in 1957), the Sounds eventually migrated to New York City where they were "discovered" by Lou Donaldson. After a single record for Riverside with Nat Adderley, the Three Sounds signed an exclusive contract with Alfred Lion on Blue Note Records. Over the course of five years, the Sounds released nine LPs and appeared on albums by Lou Donaldson and Stanley Turrentine.

Mastered by Kevin Gray & Steve Hoffman at AcousTech - Pressed by RTI

100% analogue: This LP was remastered using Pure Analogue Components Only, from the Master Tapes through to the Cutting Head