Ray Brown : Super Bass

Ray Brown : Super Bass


Ray Brown, John Clayton (bass), Freddie Green (guitar), Jeff Clayton (reeds), Jeff Hamilton (drums)

Analogue Productions 74018

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - One Armed Bandit
A2 - Bag's Groove
A3 - Swing Jig
A4 - Killer Joe
A5 - Medley
B1 - Righteous Boogie Bass
B1 - Hues
B3 - Goodbye Freddie Green
B4 - Five O'Clock Whistle
B5 - Happy Days Are Here Again

Recorded on October 17-18, l996 at Scullers Jazz Club, Boston.

Super Bass is tributed to the great Freddie Green and it features Ray Brown, Jeff Hamilton, Jeff Clayton, John Clayton and Green himself. The ensemble lays down some of the best bass driven jazz you're ever likely to hear.

"Super Bass has been a dream of mine longer than I can remember. Back in 1945 I did One Bass Hit and in 1946 I did Two Bass Hit. All that time I had thoughts of doing the Triple and the Home Run. Well I guess Super Bass is a fulfillment to those two. First of all I had this young student that returned from studying at Indiana University as a complete 'wizard' of the bass. He also was studying conducting and arranging and will be one of the top arrangers in the music business. His name is John Clayton and he is a major part of this album." - Ray Brown

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Doug Sax, using pure analogue components only, from the original tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.