Nat King Cole : The Very Thought of You

Nat King Cole : The Very Thought of You


Nat King Cole (piano, vocals), Gordon Jenkins and his orchestra

Capitol 1084

Analogue Productions Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45rpm)

Limited Edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - The Very Thought of You
A2 - But Beautiful
A3 - Impossible
A4 - I Wish I Knew (Notorious)
B1 - I Found a Million Dollar Baby
B2 - Magnificent Obsession
B3 - My Heart Tells Me
B4 - Paradise
C1 - This Is All I Ask
C2 - Cherie, I Love You
C3 - Making Believe You're Here
C4 - Cherchez la Femme
D1 - For All We Know
D2 - The More I See You
D3 - Don't Blame Me
D4 - There Is No Greater Love

Recorded May 2, 6, 8, 1958 at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, Los Angeles

Nat "King" Cole and arranger Gordon Jenkins followed their hit album Love Is The Thing with The Very Thought Of You, foraging further into romantic and sensual bliss and creating the audio equivalent of a distillation of romantic ardor in a bottle. The sixteen ballads of The Very Thought Of You, each with their own euphoric tinge, include the title track "The Very Thought of You," "For All We Know," "Paradise," and "But Beautiful." Again orchestrated with the heavenly strings of the distinctive Gordon Jenkins, sympathetically backing the intimately expressive and supremely musical voice of the incomparable Nat "King" Cole, the result again stands among its era's finest, most stylistically defining recordings of popular music and continues to enchant listeners to this day.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray at AcousTech, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at RTI.

limited edition.png