The Nat King Cole Story

The Nat King Cole Story


recorded in 1961

Capitol 1613

Analogue Productions Records : 5 LPs 180 gram (45rpm), box and booklet

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Straighten Up And Fly Right

A2 - Sweet Lorraine

A3 - It's Only A Paper Moon

A4 - (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66!

A5 - (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons

A6 - The Christmas Song

B1 - Nature Boy

B2 - Lush Life

B3 - Calypso Blues

B4 - Mona Lisa

B5 - Orange Colored Sky

B6 - Too Young

C1 - Unforgettable

C2 - Somewhere Along The Way

C3 - Walkin' My Baby Back Home

C4 - Pretend

C5 - Blue Gardenia

C6 - I Am In Love

D1 - Answer Me, My Love

D2 - Smile

D3 - Darling, Je Vous Aime Beaucoup

D4 - The Sand And The Sea

D5 - If I May

D6 - A Blossom Fell

E1 - To The Ends Of The Earth

E2 - Night Lights

E3 - Ballerina

E4 - Stardust

E5 - Send For Me

E6 - St. Louis Blues

F1 - Looking Back

F2 - Non Dimenticar

F3 - Paradise

F4 - Oh, Mary, Don't You Weep

F5 - Ay, Cosita Linda

F6 - Wild Is Love

One of Nat "King" Cole's crowning achievements and a fittingly lavish celebration of a cultural and musical icon, The Nat "King" Cole Story offers a glorious overview of the career of one of the greatest and most beloved performers in popular music history.             38 tracks, many re-recorded in stereo for this anthology, offer a selection spanning his popular career.

His beginnings leading the popular jazz-oriented Nat "King" Cole Trio are represented with selections including "Route 66" and "I Love You (For Sentimental Reasons)." Hits including "Nature Boy," "Mona Lisa," "Unforgettable," "Orange Colored Sky," "Night Lights" and "Looking Back" are here to represent his unparalleled string of memorable hits as a popular vocalist. "Calypso Blues" and "Ay Cosita Linda" help illustrate the range his projects could cover. More contemporary to this anthology, selections including "Wild Is Love" are augmented here with two huge hits as a special bonus, "Ramblin' Rose" and "Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer" to further expand the scope.

A talent and voice for all times with a body of work that could and did help define their eras, Nat "King" Cole's career offers some of the finest, most enduring and treasured recordings ever made. Nat "King" Cole could never be fully served by any one set. But this wonderful cornucopia stands as a fantastic celebration for the enthusiast and a good starting point for someone just beginning to explore The Nat "King" Cole Story.

Using the original first generation 2-track and 3-track session tapes from Capitol's vaults and all-analogue systems including custom headstacks, 3-track preview heads, console and monitoring chain installed at AcousTech specially for these releases, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman realize the stunning beauty of these recordings in this 45-RPM 200 gram five album set.

Originally presented as a deluxe box set of 3 LPs in a canvas-bound embossed box with essays and pictures included in a album-sized booklet, The Nat "King" Cole Story was a prestigious release Capitol took obvious pride in. Complete with 5 LPs, canvas-bound embossed box and booklet with essays and pictures, Analogue Productions proudly recreates the experience for a new generation to cherish with this deluxe release. This truly is a no-expenses-spared project, resulting in the ultimate version of this title and a historic reissue.

There are 38 songs in this collection. Of those, three are the same recordings included on other Analogue Productions Nat "King" Cole reissues. "Stardust" (track 28) is the same version included on Love Is The Thing. "St. Louis Blues" (track 30) is the same version included on the album of that title. And "Paradise" (track 33) is the same version included on The Very Thought Of You. Three more songs - "Sweet Lorraine," "It's Only A Paper Moon" and "(Get Your Kicks On) Route 66" - are songs that appear on After Midnight, however these versions are stereo re-recordings of the original arrangements from the 1940s. 

• Mastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at AcousTech Masteringfrom the Original Studio Master Tapes.