Nat King Cole : Penthouse Serenade

Nat King Cole : Penthouse Serenade


Nat King Cole (piano, vocals), John Collins (guitar), Charlie Harris (bass), Bunny Shawker, Lee Young (drums), Jack Costanzo (bongos, congas)

Capitol 332

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone)
A2 - Somebody Loves Me
A3 - Laura
A4 - Once In A Blue Moon
A5 - Don't Blame Me
A6 - Little Girl
A7 - If I Should Lose You
A8 - Down By The Old Mill Stream 
A9 - If I Should Loose You
B1 - Rose Room
B2 - I Surrender Dear (take 2)
B3 - It could Happen To You
B4 - I Surrender Dear (take 1)
B5 - Too Marvelous for Words
B6 - Unforgettable
B7 - Walkin' My Baby Back Home
B8 - Too Young
B9 - That's My Girl                                                                                                                                                                                     B10 - It's Only a Paper Moon

Recorded in 1951 and 1952 at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles.

The year after he had formally disbanded his trio to turn his attention to vocal pop music, Nat "King" Cole reversed himself and went into the studio with guitarist John Collins, bassist Charlie Harris, and drummer Bunny Shawker and recorded the eight-song 10" LP Penthouse Serenade, a quiet, reflective set of standards like "Somebody Loves Me" and "Laura" that he performed instrumentally at the piano. The album confirmed that, whatever success he might be having as a singer, he hadn't lost his touch. In 1955, with the 12" LP gaining dominance, Cole went back into the studio with Collins, Harris, and drummer Lee Young (Lester Young’s brother) and cut four more songs to create a 12-track reissue of Penthouse Serenade that was his first full-length LP release. 

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.