Nat King Cole : After Midnight

Nat King Cole : After Midnight


Nat King Cole (piano, vocals), Charlie Harris (bass), John Collins (guitar), Willie Smith (alto sax), Juan Tizol (trombone), Harry Edison (trumpet), Stuff Smith (violin), Lee Young (drums), Jack Costanzo (bongos)

Capitol 782

Analogue Productions Records : 3 LPs 180 gram (45rpm) with booklet

Limited Edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

1 - Just You, Just Me
2 - Sweet Lorraine
3 - Sometimes I'm Happy
4 - Caravan
5 - It's Only a Paper Moon
6 - You're Looking at Me
7 - Lonely One
8 - Don't Let it Go to Your Head
9 - I Know That You Know
10 - Blame it on my Youth
11 - When I Grow too Old to Dream
12 - Route 66
13 - Candy
14 - What is There to Say?
15 - I Was a Little too Lonely (and You Were a Little too Late)
16 - You Can Depend on Me
17 - Two Loves Have
18 - Just You, Just Me (Take One)
19 - It's Only A Paper Moon (Take Three)

Recorded from August 15 to September 24, 1956 at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles.

In this felicitous blending of Nat "King" Cole's supreme talents as jazz pianist and vocalist with small combos featuring fellow jazz alumni, classic pop and jazz met in a wildly successful brew. A combination of new and familiar songs are featured, including fresh recordings of classic hits like "Route 66." Musicians include Harry "Sweets" Edison, Juan Tizol, Lee Young, Stuff Smith and Willie Smith augmenting his famous Trio. In addition to the full original album, five additional tracks and one alternate take from the original sessions are included in this release. Mellow, classy, focused and vibrant, After Midnight was a hit and an instant classic upon its release in 1956 and remains a gem to treasure today.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray at AcousTech, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at RTI.

limited edition.png