Luiz Bonfa : Bossa Nova

Luiz Bonfa : Bossa Nova


Luiz Bonfa (guitar, vocals), Maria Helena Toleda (vovals), Oscar Castro Neves (guitar, piano, electric organ), Leo Wright (flute), iko Castro-Neves (double bass), Roberto Pontes-Dias (drums, percussion), Lalo Schifrin (arranger)

Verve 8522

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Samba De Duas Notas (Two Note Samba)
A2 - Vem Só (Come Here, My Love)
A3 - Sambalamento
A4 - Tristeza (Brazilian Blues)
A5 - Manha De Carnaval (Morning of the Carnival)
A6 - Silêncio Do Amor (The Silence of Love)
A7 - Domingo a Noite (Sunday Night)
B1 - Ilha De Coral (Coral Island)
B2 - Adeus (Goodbye)
B3 - Quebra Mar (The Sea Wall)
B4 - Amor Que Acabou (The End of Love)
B5 - Chora Tua Tristeza (Cry Your Blues Away)
B6 - Bossa Nova Cha Cha

Recorded on December 30 and 31, 1962 in New York City.

Legendary Brazilian guitarist Luiz Bonfa is a key progenitor to the Bossa Nova movement. After a stint playing clubs in Rio de Janeiro, he migrated to New York in the late 1950s, where he worked as a guitarist and composer with Stan Getz (among others). Having worked as a composer for Brazilian films, he was asked to contribute to the 1959 soundtrack for Black Orpheus, for which he wrote the immortal theme song "Manha de Carnaval." In great demand as both a composer and guitarist due to his exceptionally precise playing, he even wrote a song for Elvis Presley. Over the years, he has recorded more than thirty records -- most of which by 1973. Although obscured by the likes of fellow countrymen and colleagues Antonio Carlos Jobim and Joao Gilberto, his contribution to Brazilian jazz -- and Bossa Nova is particular -- is paramount.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under