Johnny Cash : American Recordings III

Johnny Cash : American Recordings III


Johnny Cash : American Recordings III : Solitary man

American Recordings 500986

Analogue Productions : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - I Won't Back Down
A2 - Solitary Man
A3 - That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)
A4 - One
A5 - Nobody
A6 - I See A Darkness
A7 - The Mercy Seat
B1 - Would You Lay With Me (In A Field Of Stone)
B2 - Field Of Diamonds
B3 - Before My Time
B4 - Country Trash
B5 - Mary Of The Wild Moor
B6 - I'm Leavin' Now
B7 - Wayfaring Stranger

Recorded in 2000

For younger generations of musicians, having their song cut by Johnny Cash must be a little like scaling the Washington Monument. On his third album for producer Rick Rubin's American label, Cash makes Tom Petty's "I Won't Back Down" sound like a companion classic to "I Walk the Line." He transforms U2's "One" into a sturdy testament of plainspoken faith, while he plumbs the netherworld of Nick Cave's "The Mercy Seat" and Will Oldham's "I See a Darkness." Amid more familiar fare (including Neil Diamond's title track), the album's sing-along standout is the deadpan, down-and-out, talking blues of "Nobody." Cash's recent originals have the age-old purity of Appalachian music, while the traditional closing of "Wayfaring Stranger" offers bittersweet benediction. Merle Haggard, Sheryl Crow, and June Carter Cash provide vocal cameos.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.