Johnny Cash : American Recordings II

Johnny Cash : American Recordings II


Johnny Cash : American Recordings II : Unchained

American Recordings 943077

Analogue Productions : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Rowboat
A2 - Sea of Heartbreak
A3 - Rusty Cage
A4 - The One Rose
A5 - Country Boy
A6 - Memories are Made of This
A7 - Spiritual
B1 - Kneeling Drunkard’s Plea
B2 - Southern Accents
B3 - Mean Eyed Cat
B4 - Meet Me In Heaven
B5 - I Never Picked Cotton
B6 - Unchained
B7 - I've Been Everywhere

Recorded in 1996

The first four songs on Unchained come from the songbooks of Beck, Don Gibson, Soundgarden, and Jimmie Rodgers. What might look like absurdly unsupportable eclecticism in other artists, of course, is pretty much standard stuff for Cash. Unchained is hardly standard, though; it's more like the best album he's made since his 1984 departure from Columbia Records. Not only is this a stack of songs perfectly and idiosyncratically suited to the man, they're given door-rattling backing treatment by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, who prove as fitting for Cash's music as his own Tennessee Two was back in the day.

Two years on from his triumphant comeback album, American Recordings, 1996's Unchained took the blueprint of it's predecessor and added Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers to the mix along with Marty Stuart, Lindsey Buckingham, Flea and many others. The results were just as fantastic, adding a different dimension and fullness to the overall sound, but maintaining the mood and atmosphere that made American Recordings such a treasure. Songs written by Petty, Chris Cornell and Beck rub shoulders with a handful of Johnny Cash originals.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.