Johnny Cash : American Recordings I

Johnny Cash : American Recordings I


American Recordings 945520

Analogue Productions : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Delia's Gone
A2 - Let The Train Blow The Whistle
A3 - The Beast In Me
A4 - Drive On
A5 - Why Me Lord
A6 - Thirteen
A7 - Oh, Bury Me Not
A8 - Introduction to "Cowboy's Prayer"
B1 - Bird On A Wire
B2 - Tennessee Stud
B3 - Down There By The Train
B4 - Redemption
B5 - Like A Soldier
B6 - The Man Who Couldn't Cry

In 1994 Cash stunned the music world with this commanding collection of 13 solo acoustic performances that roll from gospel to cowboy to sarcastic folk. Minimalism had long been Cash's meal ticket, but this time around, producer Rick Rubin stripped it all away, recording the bulk of the record in Cash's cabin or his own living room (two cuts were captured live at the Viper Room in front of an emphatic audience). Cash offers five typically direct and vivid originals, but he also seizes control of songs by Kris Kristofferson, Nick Lowe, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, and Loudon Wainwright. Decades after "Hey Porter," Cash delivers a pure, naked, and incredibly moving record that, dare we say, rivals the impact of his greatest achievements.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.