Beck, Bogert & Appice

Beck, Bogert & Appice


Jeff Beck (vocals, guitar), Tim Bogert (vocals, bass), Carmine Appice (vocals, drums), Jimmy Greenspoon (piano), Duane Hitchings (piano, mellotron), Danny Hutton (background vocals)

Epic 32140

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Black Cat Moan
A2 - Lady
A3 - Oh To Love You
A4 - Superstition
B1 - Sweet Sweet Surrender
B2 - Why Should I Care
B3 - Lose Myself With You
B4 - LIvin' Alone
B5 - I'm So Proud

Recorded in December 1972 - January 1973 by Baker Bigsby and Gray Starr .

On the whole, the supergroups of the Seventies didn’t last very long, but for that – all the more notably. This certainly applies to the Anglo-American trio made up of the extremely talented though narcissistic guitarist Jeff Beck, the bass-player Tim Bogert, and the drummer Carmine Appice. As early as 1970, the British Beck wanted to engage the two American musicians for a joint project. This plan however had to be postponed for two years because the speed-mad Beck had had a serious car accident and needed time to recover. 1973 saw the release of the trio’s first and only studio album, which not only demonstrated Beck’s powerful-hectic style of guitar playing but also allowed his musical companions to show off their prowess. The trio applied their musical talents to all facets of rock ’n’ roll, right from the bluesy first number "Black Cat Moan", via the agile rock sound of "Lady", ending up with the moans of a vocal love ballad "Oh To Love You", followed by a really convincing gospel song "Sweet And Surrender" and the super funky beat of "Lose Myself With You".
The trio seemed to lust for more – but this was not to be. For the very next year, during the intense preparations for their next studio album, the moody Jeff Beck dissolved the group on the spur of the moment.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under