J.J. Cale : Troubadour

J.J. Cale : Troubadour


J. J. Cale (vocals, guitar, piano), Gordon Payne, Chuck Browning, Doug Bartenfeld (guitar), Reggie Young, Harold Bradley, Bill Boatman (rhythm guitar), Lloyd Green, Buddy Emmons (steel guitar), Bobby Woods, Bill Purcell (piano), Don Tweedy (ARP synthesizer), Billy Puett (saxophone), George Tidwell (trumpet), Dennis Goode (trombone), Charles Dungey, Tommy Cogbill, Osborn, Bill Raffensperger (bass guitar), Karl Himmel, Kenny Buttrey, Buddy Harman, Jimmy Karstein, Kenny Malone (drums), Farrell Morris, Audie Ashworth, J.I. Allison (percussion) 

Shelter 52002

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - Hey Baby
A2 - Travelin’ Light
A3 - You Got Something
A4 - Ride Me High
A5 - Hold On
A6 - Cocaine
B1 - I’m A Gypsy Man
B2 - The Woman That Got Away
B3 - Super blue
B4 - Let Me Do It To You
B5 - Cherry
B6 - You Got Me On So Bad

Troubadour, released in 1976, is J. J. Cale’s fourth studio album since his debut in 1972.

J.J. Cale, much like Nick Drake and Alex Chilton, is an artist whose genius and influence far outweigh his popularity. And now through this exceptional Analogue Productions reissue, pressed on 200-gram vinyl at Quality Record Pressings, you're going to hear Cale on his signature hits like "Cocaine" sound more vibrant and real than you've ever heard before!

With his laid-back rootsy style, Cale is best known for writing "After Midnight" and "Cocaine," songs that Eric Clapton later made into hits. But Cale's influence wasn't only through songwriting — All Music Guide notes that his distinctly loping sense of rhythm and shuffling boogie became the blueprint for the adult-oriented roots rock of Clapton and Mark Knopfler, among others. Cale's refusal to vary the sound of his music over the course of his career caused some critics to label him as a one-trick pony, but he managed to build a dedicated cult following with his sporadically released recordings.

Cale's signature laid back, bluesy style of country rock features rambling snapshots of love and life on the road that are unconventionally addicting. Reviewer James Burke says all of the songs on Troubadour are outstanding. The warhorse "Cocaine" is far more intriguing in its original version, more menacing and worldworn than Clapton's driving take. The uncharacteristically energetic "Travelin' Light" is a whispered invitation to the road — half intrigue, half warning. Troubadour is a timeless recording of the highest calibre.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.