Holly Cole : Dont Smoke in Bed

Holly Cole : Dont Smoke in Bed


Holly Cole (vocals), Joe Henderson (tenor sax), David Lindley (steel guitar), Aaron Davis (piano), David Piltch (bass)

Manhattan 093

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - I Can See Clearly Now
A2 - Don't Let the Teardrops Rust Your Shining Heart
A3 - Get Out Of Town
A4 - So and So
A5 - The Tennessee Waltz
A6 - Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday
B1 - Blame It On My Youth
B2 - Ev'rything I've Got
B3 - Je Ne T'Aime Pas
B4 - Cry (If you Want To)
B5 - Que Sera Sera
B6 - Don't Smoke In Bed

Recorded in February - March 1993 at Reaction Studios, Toronto.

Holly Cole brings her own dimension to the tradition of cabaret, a strong voice that's still capable of nuance, an ear for quirky repertoire, and a light touch that keeps some of these performances floating just at the edge of irony.

On her second album, 1993's Don't Smoke in Bed, Cole explores varied musical styles, adding pop, blues, country and a French ballad to her standard, low-key jazz.

Holly's delivery of more traditional fare shines on Cole Porter's witty "Get Out of Town" and Kurt Weill's torchy "Je Ne T'aime Pas," while she brings clarity, power, and anthemic passion to the surprising treatment of Johnny Nash's "I Can See Clearly Now." She's generally well supported in this intimate set by pianist Aaron Davis and bassist Davd Piltch, while there's sparing and effective use of strings. There are fine guest spots by tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson, on "Everyday Will Be Like a Holiday," and David Lindley, whose steel guitar contributes to the strange country music of "Don't Let the Teardrops Rust Your Shining Heart."

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Bernie Grundman using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.