George Benson : The Other Side of Abbey Road

George Benson : The Other Side of Abbey Road


George Benson (guitar), Herbie Hancock, Bob James, Ernie Hayes (piano, organ, harpsichord), Freddie Hubbard (trumpet), Bernie Glow, Marvin Stamm, Mel Davis (trumpet, flugelhorn), Sonny Fortune (alto sax), Don Ashworth (baritone sax, bass clarinet), Jerome Richardson (tenor sax, clarinet, flute), Hubert Laws (flute), Phil Bodner (flute, oboe), Wayne Andre (trombone), Max Pollikoff, Raoul Poliakin (violin), Emanuel Verdi (viola), George Ricci (cello), Ron Carter, Jerry Jemmott (bass), Ed Shaughnessy, Idris Muhammad (drums), Ray Baretto, Andy Gonzalez (percussion)

A&M CTI 3028

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Golden Slumbers
A2 - You Never Give Me Your Money
A3 - Because / Come Together
A4 - Oh! Darling
B1 - Here Comes The Sun
B2 - I Want You (She's So Heavy)
B3 - Something / Octopus's Garden
B4 - The End

Recorded on October 22-23 & November 4-5, 1969 at Rudy Van gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jerey.

While commercial success eventually did come to Benson, it came mostly at the expense of his brilliant guitar playing. The Other Side Of Abbey Road predates Benson's notorious 70s sellout. This is an incredibly tight and cohesive album, filled with great solos by Benson, Herbie Hancock, Freddie Hubbard, and Sonny Fortune. Creed Taylor really hit his stride with this record, laying the blueprint for his classic CTI-label formula: top-ten pop covers, top-flight musicians, tight arrangements, atmospheric Don Sebesky strings, and superb Rudy Van Gelder sound quality. All these winning elements come together here, making this the most moody, melodic, complex, and funky of the "good" George Benson records worth owning. 

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under