Clifford Brown : Memorial Album

Clifford Brown : Memorial Album


Clifford Brown (trumpet), Lou Donaldson (alto sax), Elmo Hope (piano), Percy Heath (bass), Philly Joe Jones (drums)

Blue Note 1526

Music Matters Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45rpm)

Limited Edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

1 - Hymn Of The Orient
2 - Easy Living
3 - Minor Mood
4 - Cherokee
5 - Wail Bait
6 - Brownie Speaks
7 - De-Dah
8 - Cookin'
9 - You Go To My Head
10 - Carving The Rock

Recorded on August 28 and June 9, 1953 at Rudy Van Geler Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.

From the very beginning of his brief career, it was obvious that Clifford Brown was one of the greatest trumpeters of all time. The music on the Clifford Brown Memorial Album features Brownie in 1953 on his first jazz recordings. Even if he had only recorded the music on this release, Brown would have been considered an immortal. Five songs match him with Lou Donaldson and Elmo Hope and these not only include his brilliant solos on "Brownie Speaks" and Hope's catchy "De-Dah" but a mature ballad statement on "You Go To My Head." Brown was building on the legacy of Fats Navarro while challenging Dizzy Gillespie's position as modern jazz's top trumpeter, and Brownie was only 22. The other half of this remarkable release has Brown in a sextet with Art Blakey and John Lewis, ripping into "Cherokee" (Charlie Parker would have been proud) and "Wail Bait" while caressing "Easy Living." His large beautiful tone, mastery of bebop and remarkable technique made Brown a giant from the start. Listen to the Clifford Brown Memorial Album and hear where Lee Morgan, Freddie Hubbard and Woody Shaw came from.

Like all Music Matters Jazz releases, this audiophile vinyl reissue is remastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at Acoustech from the original analogue Van Gelder studio tapes and pressed on 180g virgin vinyl at RTI in Camarillo, CA. The highest quality gatefold cover features original session photography on the inside.