Chicago/The Blues/Today!

Chicago/The Blues/Today!


Chicago/The Blues/Today! : J.B. Hutto, Junior Wells, Otis Spann, Otis Rush, Jimmy Cotton, Johnny Shines Blues Band, Johnny Young's South Side Blues Band, Homesick James and Big Walter Horton's Blues Harp Band with Memphis Charlie Musselwhite.

Vanguard 79216

Pure Pleasure Records : 3 LPs 180 gram, box with booklet

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart


A1 - Help Me (A Tribute To Sonny Boy Williamson)
A2 - It Hurts Me Too (When Things Go Wrong)
A3 - Messin' With The Kid
A4 - Vietcong Blues
A5 - All Night Long
A6 - Going Ahead
A7 - Please Help
B1 - Too Much Alcohol
B2 - Married Woman Blues
B3 - That's The Truth
B4 - Marie
B5 - Burning Fire
B6 - S.P. Blues
B7 - Sometimes I Wonder
B8 - Spann's Stomp
C1 - Cotton Crop Blues
C2 - The Blues Keep Falling
C3 - Love Me Or Leave Me
C4 - Rocket 88
C5 - West Helena Blues
C6 - Everything's Going To Turn Out Alright
C7 - It's A Mean Old World
D1 - I Can't Quit You Baby
D2 - Rock
D3 - It's My Own Fault
D4 - Dust My Broom
D5 - Somebody Been Talkin'
D6 - Set A Date
D7 - So Mean To Me
E1 - One More Time
E2 - Kid Man Blues
E3 - My Black Marie
E4 - Stealin' Back
E5 - I Got Mine In Time
E6 - Tighten Up On It
F1 - Dynaflow Blues
F2 - Black Spider Blues
F3 - Layin' Down My Shoes And Clothes
F4 - If I Get Lucky
F5 - Rockin' My Bridge
F6 - Mr. Boweevil
F7 - Hey, Hey

Recorded in December 1965 at RCA Studios, Chicago.

The Junior Wells Chicago Blues Band (A1-5) :
Junior Wells (harmonica, vocals), Buddy Guy (guitar), Jack Myers (bass), Fred Below (drums)

J.B. Hutto and his Hawks (A6-7, B1-3) :
J.B. Hutto (guitar, vocals), Herman Hassell (bass), Frank Kirkland (drums)

Otis Spann's South Side Piano (B4-8) :
Otis Spann (piano, vocals), S.P. Leary (drums)

The Jimmy Cotton Blues Quartet (C1-5) :
Jimmy Cotton (harmonica, vocals), James Madison (guitar), Otis Spann (piano), S.P. Leary (drums)

The Otis Rush Blues Band (C6-7, D1-3) :
Otis Rush (guitar, vocals), Robert "Sax" Crowder (alto sax), Luther Tucker (rhythm guitar), Roger Jones (bass), Willie Lion (drums)

Homesick James and his Dusters (D4-7) :
Homesick James Williamson (guitar, vocals), Willie Dixon (bass), Frank Kirkland (drums)

Johnny Young's South Side Blues Band (E1-6) :
Johnny Young (guitar, mandolin, vocals), Walter Horton (harmonica), Hayes Ware (bass), Elga Edmonds (drums)

The Johnny Shines Blues Band (F1-4, 6-7) :
Johnny Shines (guitar, vocals), Walter Horton (harmonica), Floyd Jones (bass), Frank Kirkland (drums)

Big Walter Horton's Blues Harp Band with Memphis Charlie (F5) :
Walter Horton (lead harmonica), Memphis Charlie Musselwhite (2nd harmonica), Johnny Shines (guitar), Floyd Jones (bass), Frank Kirkland (drums)

In early 1966, blues history was made with the issuance of a three-volume set of new recordings produced by blues historian Samuel Charters. This series was known as Chicago/The Blues/Today! and the release sent shock waves through the world of rock & roll. Every artist on the three volumes had recorded before (some, like Otis Rush and Junior Wells, had actually seen small hits on the R&B charts), but these recordings were largely their introduction to a newer -- and predominately white -- album-oriented audience. The "Today!" part of the title was no bit of hyperbole, either. This series accurately portrayed a vast cross section of the Chicago blues scene as one could hear it on any given night in the mid-'60s. Rather than record full albums (which Charters had neither the budget nor the legal resources to pull off), each artist simply came in for a union-approved session of four to six songs, with each volume featuring three different groupings. With these recordings, blues suddenly gained respectability as something much more vital and vibrant than just a poor cousin of jazz. A new market for this music began, one that exists today in full blossom. Their effect on musicians was enormous. It's fair to assume that most blues-influenced artists had all three volumes in their respective collections, and the songs on them ended up in the repertoires of everyone from Jimi Hendrix (Junior Wells' "Rock Me") to Led Zeppelin (a note-for-note copy of Otis Rush's "I Can't Quit You Baby") to Steppenwolf (Junior Wells' "Messin' with the Kid") and beyond. These recordings have stayed in print and have been reasonably good sellers over the years since their original release, all coming out on compact disc. This packaging puts all three volumes together, but with no bonus tracks, as no extras were recorded for these sessions.

A plus in this packaging, is that it features a nice booklet with detailed, updated notes from Samuel Charters, a nice appreciation from Ed Ward, and absolutely eye-boggling session photos taken by Samuel Charters' wife, Ann.

This Pure Pleasure LPs box set was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.