Cab Calloway : Hi De Hi De Ho

Cab Calloway : Hi De Hi De Ho


Cab Calloway (vocals), Abraham Richman, Charles O'Kane (sax), Everett Barksdale (guitar), Hank Jones (piano), Joe Reisman, Milt Hinton (bass), J.C. Herad (drums), ...

recorded in 1960

RCA Living Stereo 2021

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

1. The Hi De Ho Man (That's Me)

2. I'll Be Around

3. Summertime

4. It Ain't Necessarily So

5. Kickin' the Gong Around

6. You Rascal You

7. Minnie the Moocher (The Ho De Ho Song)

8. I See a Million People (But All I Can See Is You)

9. St. James Infirmary

10. Stormy Weather

11. The Jumpin' Jive

Recorded in RCA Victor's Studio A, New York City.

It was Cab Calloway, the 'Hi-De-Ho man' in cream colored tails who gyrated to the point of actually flying while leading his band, and who sang slightly insane ditties (as well as the leading hit songs of the day) in a remarkably rich and resonant baritone. The Cab was one of that group of leaders of the 1930’s who, although playing no musical instrument, collected a fine band and a completely personal style.

In this album, Cab has freshly recorded a dozen of his biggest hits of former years, taking full advantage of the most modern high fidelity recording techniques. In so many ways Cab symbolized that whole era of “The Jumpin’ Jive” when people needed something to »make you nine feet tall when you’re four feet five ..