Britten : Nocturne for Tenor Solo and Strings

Britten : Nocturne for Tenor Solo and Strings


Nocturne for tenor solo and strings, Four Sea Interludes, Passacaglia (Peter Grimes)

Peter Pears, Benjamin Britten and the London Symphony Orchestra (1965)

Decca SXL 2189

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) :
Nocturne, Op.60 for Tenor Solo, Seven Obligato Instruments and String Orchestra
A1 - Shelley : On a poet’s lips I sleep, from Prometheus Unbound
A2 - Tennyson : The Kraken, with bassoon
A3 - Coleridge : Encintured with a twine of leaves, from The Wanderings of Cain, with harp
A4 - Middleton : Midnight Bell, from Blurt, Master Constable, with French horn
A5 - Wordsworth : But that night when on my bed I lay, from The Prelude (1805), with timpani
A6 - Owen : The Kind Ghosts, with cor anglais
A7 - Keats : Sleep and Poetry, with flute and clarinet
A8 - Shakespeare : Sonnet XLIII, with all the obbligato instruments
Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from "Peter Grimes," Op.33 :
B1 - Dawn
B2 - Sunday Morning
B3 - Moonlight
B4 - Storm
B5 - Passacaglia

Nocturne is a song cycle by Benjamin Britten, written for tenor, seven obbligato instruments and strings. The seven instruments are flute, cor anglais, clarinet, bassoon, harp, French horn and timpani. Nocturne was Britten's fourth and final orchestral song cycle. It was dedicated to Alma Mahler. Nocturne was premiered in the Leeds Town Hall at the centenary Leeds Festival on 16 October 1958 by Peter Pears and the BBC Symphony Orchestra under Rudolf Schwarz.

The theme of the piece, as its name Nocturne suggests, is sleep and darkness, both in the literal and figurative sense. In this respect, the work is reminiscent of Britten's earlier Serenade. Unlike Serenade, Nocturne is presented as a continuous piece rather than separate movements. This is emphasized by a number of figures which occur throughout, most notably the 'rocking' string motif which opens the work. The conflicting tonal relationship between C and D-flat is also evident throughout, reflecting the contrast between the untroubled and the more perturbed aspects of sleep which are also described by Britten's choice of poems.

Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia are from Britten's opera "Peter Grimes." Both pieces are often performed together.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under