Arnett Cobb : Ballads

Arnett Cobb : Ballads


Arnett Cobb (tenor sax), Red Garland (piano), George Duvivier (bass), J.C. Heard (drums)

Prestige Moodsville 14

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - Willow Weep For Me
A2 - Hurry Home
A3 - P.S. I Love You
B1 - Blue And Sentimental
B2 - Darn That Dream
B3 - Why Try To Change Me Now
B4 - Your Wonderful Love

recorded on November 1, 1960 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

Part of the ultimate audiophile Prestige stereo reissues from Analogue Productions, 25 of the most collectible, rarest, most audiophile-sounding Rudy Van Gelder recordings ever made. All mastered from the original analogue master tapes by mastering maestro Kevin Gray. 200-gram LPs pressed at state-of -the-art plant Quality Record Pressings and plated by Gary Salstrom. Deep groove label pressings, tip-on jackets on thick cardboard stock.

Originally released in November 1960, Ballads by Cobb, as its title suggests, is all slow ballads, putting the emphasis on the Texas tenor’s warm tone. Cobb spent most of the 1960s playing back in his native Texas but he returned to the national scene in 1973 and during his final 15 years engaged in many exciting tenor battles, showing that there were few tougher Texas tenors than the legendary Arnett Cobb.