Alfredo Campoli : Encores

Alfredo Campoli : Encores


Alfredo Campoli (violin), Eric Gritton (piano)

This 12” record combines two 10" legendary encores recordings of Alfredo Campoli : Encores, Vol. 1 (Decca LW5180) and Encores, Vol. 2 (Decca LW5242)

Analogphonic Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

sold out
Add To Cart

A1 - Fibich : Poeme
A2 - Ponce : Estrellita
A3 - Drdla : Souvenir
A4 - Fiocco : Allegro
A5 - Schubert : The Bee
A6 - Albeniz : Tango
A7 - Heuberger : Midnight Bells
B1 - Mendelssohn : On Wings of Song
B2 - Drigo : Valse Bluette
B3 - Elgar : La Capricieuse
B4 - Gardner : From The Canebrake
B5 - Traditional (arr. Heifetz) : Deep River
B6 - Debussy : Minstrels
B7 - Foster (arr. Kreisler) : Old Folks At Home

Side A - Encores : Encores, Vol. 1 - Side B - Encores, Vol. 2

"A succession of encore pieces, all played with the utmost enchantment; and with the three more sentimental show-stoppers isolated on side one - so that we have no need to break the mood unless we wish. In search of more athletic achievement, we can turn over; here I think perhaps the Albeniz Tango might have been a little less athletic, a little more sentimental (and how on earth does it take two people to arrange the Fiocco piece? - the credit reads almost like one of those committees that write the not-so-good pop songs). But the search for athleticism is rewarded so fully in The Bee, and for sentiment so fully in the Fibich, Ponce, and Drdla: this is indubitably how to play encores. And, bar a surely unnecessary tape-join in the Fibich, how to record them – a winning sound; and a sensible disposition of the whole on a medium-play.” Gramophone (for Vol. 1)

"He combines a knowledge of such pieces with a matured classical technique as does no other violinist I can think of, and he plays the music with sympathy and affection and immense skill. The Drdla sounds quite ravishingly beautiful... and the recording is very good indeed.” Gramophone (for Vol. 12)

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1950 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

The last and by no means least of the modern Hungarian school of violin playing, Johanna Martzy made relatively few commercial recordings. But all of them were made in her prime, and most of them acquired a legendary and “cult” status after her short career. This Deutsche Grammophon - Beethoven (op.30-3) and Mozart (KV 376) Sonatas with pianist Jean Antonietti – is no exception; she was devoted to Beethoven and Mozart, and her recitals often included the Sonatas by two composers. Martzy and Antonietti played two sonatas beautifully, their interpretations are well balanced, transparent and, in the best sense of the word, simple.

This Analogphonic record was mastered from the original Deutsche Grammophon master tapes by Rainer Maillard, using pure analogue audiophile equipment, cut at Emil Berliner Studio Berlin, and pressed at Pallas GmbH in Germany.