Nancy Wilson : But Beautifull

Nancy Wilson : But Beautifull


Nancy Wilson (vocals), Gino Bertachini (guitar), Hank Jones (piano), Ron Carter (bass), Grady Tate (drums)

Capitol 798

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Happiness is a Thing Called Joe
A2 - Oh! Look At Me Now
A3 - Glad To Be Unhappy
A4 - Do It Again
A5 - But Beautiful
A6 - Easy Living*
B1 - Prelude To a Kiss
B2 - I Thought About You
B3 - For Heaven's Sake
B4 - Supper Time
B5 - I'll Walk Alone
B6 - Darn That Dream*
B7 - In a Sentimental Mood*
 *  First time on vinyl - not on original issue.

Recorded on November 4-6, 1969 at Capitol Studios in New York City.

Young and heart-stoppingly beautiful, Wilson was discovered singing in a N.Y.C. jazz club in the late 1950s by Cannonball Adderley, who told his management at Capitol Records that they needed to scoop her up before another label did. Wilson was immediately signed and started recording for Capitol, the premier vocal label of the 1950s and '60s. She released a couple of very respectable LPs with star arranger Billy May but actually crossed over to radio and the pop charts with two small group jazz platters with her bestselling label mates (one with George Shearing (The Swinging's Mutual) and the other with Cannonball Adderley). Catapulted to the pop stratosphere, Wilson was the bestselling artist on Capitol Records' roster (beating out everyone from Nat King Cole to the Beach Boys) until the Beatles crossed the pond and eclipsed everything and everybody in their culture-changing wake.

A fine album from this '60s period, But Beautiful, a jazz ballad set led by pianist Hank Jones. In the '70s and '80s, Nancy Wilson slowly made the transition from pop star to adult contemporary soul singer. From the 1990s to the present day, Wilson returned to alternating jazz standards, quiet storm and adult contemporary ballads, while putting on a sensational jazz show in concert. The longevity of Wilson's career and the continuing strength of her voice are almost unheard of in modern pop music.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.