Horace Silver : Finger Poppin'

Horace Silver : Finger Poppin'


Horace Silver (piano), Blue Mitchell (trumpet), Junior Cook (tenor sax), Gene Taylor (bass), Louis Hayes (drums)

Blue Note 4008

Music Matters Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45rpm)

Limited Edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Finger Poppin'
A2 - Juicy Lucy
B1 - Swingin' The Samba
B2 - Sweet Stuff
C1 - Cookin' At The Continental
C2 - Come On Home
D1 - You Happened My Way
D2 - Mellow D

Recorded on January 31, 1959 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, New Jersey.

"Finger Poppin' was the first album Horace Silver recorded with the most celebrated version of his quintet... It's also one of Silver's all-time classics, perfectly blending the pianist's advanced, groundbreaking hard bop style with the winning, gregarious personality conveyed in his eight original tunes. Silver always kept his harmonically sophisticated music firmly grounded in the emotional directness and effortless swing of the blues, and Finger Poppin' is one of the greatest peaks of that approach. A big part of the reason is the chemistry between the group – it's electrifying and tightly knit, with a palpable sense of discovery and excitement at how well the music is turning out... Finger Poppin' is everything small-group hard bop should be, and it's a terrific example of what made the Blue Note label's mainstream sound so infectious". - All Music

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

Like all Music Matters Jazz releases, this audiophile vinyl reissue is remastered from the original analogue Van Gelder studio tapes and pressed on 180g virgin vinyl at RTI. The highest quality gatefold cover features original session photography on the inside.