The Rolling Stones : Big Hits

The Rolling Stones : Big Hits


Decca 101

Abkco Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
A2 - The Last Time
A3 - As Tears Go By
A4 - Time Is On My Side
A5 - It's All Over Now
A6 - Tell Me
B1 - 19th Nervous Breakdown
B2 - Heart Of Stone
B3 - Get Off My Cloud
B4 - Not Fade Away
B5 - Good Times, Bad Times
B6 - Play With Fire

Recorded from 1964 to 1966.

This first hits compilation of the Rolling Stones is still one of the most potent collections of singles that one can find. Listening to it in 1966 or today, one can understand how, almost prematurely for the 1960s - as most of the material here dates from 1964 or 1965 - the Rolling Stones set themselves up as the decade's most visible rock & roll rebels. The defiant, in-your-face fuzztone riff and sexually frustrated lyrics of "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" and the frenetic pounding punk anthem "Get Off of My Cloud" are highlights of a 12-song set that has no weak points, only peaks -- the louder-than-life rhythm guitars on "It's All Over Now" and "The Last Time," the wailing R&B of "Time Is on My Side," the balladry, folk, and soul style of "As Tears Go By" and "Tell Me," and all of the rest make for a body of work that's still amazing to hear decades after the fact. Appearing as it did in the late winter of 1966, this collection completely missed the group's drift into psychedelia, but Big Hits is still today the most concentrated dose of the early Stones at their most accessible that is to be had, short of simply playing their first five albums.