Wes Montgomery : Down Here on the Ground

Wes Montgomery : Down Here on the Ground


Wes Montgomery (guitar), Herbie Hancock (piano), George Marge, Hubert Laws, Romeo Penque,(flute, oboe), Mike Mainieri (vibraphone), Gene Orloff, Raoul Poliakin (violin), Emanuel Vardi (viola), Ron Carter (bass), Grady Tate (drums), Bobby Rosengarden, Ray Barretto (percussion) 

A&M CTI 3006

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Wind Song
A2 - Georgia on My Mind
A3 - The Other Man's Grass Is Always Greener
A4 - Down Here on the Ground
A5 - Up and at It
B1 - Goin' on to Detroit
B2 - I Say a Little Prayer for You
B3 - When I Look in Your Eyes
B4 - Know It All (Quem Diz Que Sabe)
B5 - The Fox

Recorded on December 20, 1967 and January 26, 1968 at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.

Down Here on the Ground is the nineteenth album by Wes Montgomery, released in 1968. It reached number one on the Billboard Jazz album chart and number 4 on the R&B chart. 

John Leslie "Wes" Montgomery (1923 – 1968) was an American jazz guitarist. He is widely considered one of the major jazz guitarists, emerging after such seminal figures as Django Reinhardt and Charlie Christian and influencing countless others. Montgomery was known for an unusual technique of plucking the strings with the side of his thumb which granted him a distinctive sound.

He often worked with his brothers Buddy (piano and vibes) and Monk (bass guitar), and with organist Jimmy Smith. Montgomery's recordings up to 1965 were generally oriented towards hard bop, soul jazz, and post bop, while circa 1965 he began recording more pop-oriented instrumental albums that featured less improvisation but found mainstream success. His later-career guitar style is a major influence on fusion and smooth jazz.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com