Thelonious Monk : Solo Monk

Thelonious Monk : Solo Monk


Thelonious Monk, piano solo

Columbia 1087

ORGM Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Dinah
A2 - I Surrender, Dear
A3 - Sweet And Lovely
A4 - North Of The Sunset
A5 - Ruby, My Dear
A6 - I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
B1 - I Hadn't Anyone Till You
B2 - Everything Happens To Me
B3 - Monk's Point
B4 - I Should Care
B5 - Ask Me Now
B6 - These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)

Recorded on October 31, 1964 and March 2, 1965 at Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City.

"Perhaps THE solo piano record to have by Monk." -Thom Jurek, AllMusic

Even if you've heard Monk perform some of these songs in a band setting, you ain't heard nothing yet. Solo Monk is simply amazing. And now, mastered from the original master tapes, ORG Music's 180g LP brings all the music closer, and into more transparent form, than ever before. This record is an analog treasure and will become a reference in your collection. 

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This ORG Music LP was remastered by Bernie Grundman, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at Pallas.