The Return of Howard McGhee

The Return of Howard McGhee


Howard McGhee (trumpet), Sahib Shihab (baritone sax, alto sax), Duke Jordan (piano), Percy Heath (bass), Philly Joe Jones (drums)

Bethlehem 42

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Get Happy
A2 - Tahitian Lullaby
A3 - Lover Man
A4 - Lullaby Of The Leaves
A5 - You're Teasing Me
A6 - Transpicious
B1 - Rifftide
B2 - Oo-wee But I Do
B3 - Don't Blame Me
B4 - Tweedles
B5 - I'll Remember April

Recorded on October 22, 1955 in New York City, after one of McGhee's releases from the Penitentiary on narcotics charges, hence the title "The Return Of …."

Howard McGhee is a wonderful agile soloist, a model for the younger Kenny Dorham. Sharing the spotlight with McGhee is Sahib Shihab on baritone sax, what more can you ask? Lots of baritone solos, and few on alto for variety, Sahib's presence is not to be overlooked. That angry baritone rasp is so compelling - both Sahib and Pepper Adams showed what could be achieved with this weighty length of brass plumbing if you played it as though it was a tenor or indeed alto, and just ran with the changes, Charlie Parker on steroids.

Duke Jordan's solid chordal foundations, embellished with glittering runs, is always pushing the tempo along, with "Philly Joe" and Percy Heath picking up any slack. Bop of a very high order from the post-swing cauldron that was 1955.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.