The Marvelettes

The Marvelettes


Recorded in 1966-1967

Tamla 274

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Barefootin'
A2 - Message to Michael
A3 - The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
A4 - When You're Young and In Love
A5 - I Know Better
A6 - I Can't Turn Around
B1 - He Was Really Sayin' Somethin'
B2 - The Day You Take One
B3 - When I Need You
B4 - Keep Off, No Trepassing
B5 - This Night Was Made For Love
B6 - I Need Someone

The Marvelettes, a.k.a. The Pink Album is vocal group The Marvelettes's seventh LP.

The Marvelettes was an American girl group that achieved popularity in the early - to mid-1960s. They consisted of schoolmates Gladys Horton, Katherine Anderson, Georgeanna Tillman, Juanita Cowart, and Georgia Dobbins, who was replaced by Wanda Young prior to the group signing their first deal with Tamla Motown.

"Perhaps the best studio album the Marvelettes ever recorded. The spotlight was shared between Horton and Young, and one can attest to the differences in their styles (Horton was earthier, Young the more pop-oriented). In addition to their classic hit "The Hunter Gets Captured By the Game" and what is the best version of the Van McCoy warhorse "When You're Young and In Love," there are some would-be hits such as "The Day You Take One (You Have to Take the Other)" and the lovely ballad "This Night Was Made For Love." This was an artistic triumph and proof that girl groups can mature with age." - AllMusic.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.