Smokey Robinson and The Miracles

Smokey Robinson and The Miracles


Recorded in 1965

Tamla 267

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - The Tracks Of My Tears
A2 - Going To A Go-Go
A3 - Ooo Baby Baby
A4 - My Girl Has Gone
A5 - In Case You Need Love
A6 - Choosey Beggar
B1 - Since You Won My Heart
B2 - From Head To Toe
B3 - All That's Good
B4 - My Baby Changes Like The Weather
B5 - Let Me Have Some
B6 - A Fork In The Road

Though its title track ignited a nationwide fad for go-go music, Smokey Robinson & the Miracles (Bill "Smokey" Robinson, Bobby Rodgers, Ronnie White, Pete Moore)' Going to a Go-Go LP certainly wasn't just a cash-in effort. It's one of the best records the group put out, and the first six songs make for the best side of any original Motown LP of the '60s (granted, all but one are also available on dozens of Miracles compilations). The four biggest hits were among the best in a set of Miracles archetypes: the throwback to the aching '50s doo wop ballad ("Ooo Baby, Baby"), the flashy up-tempo dance song ("Going to a Go-Go"), the dancing-with-tears-in-my-eyes jerker ("The Tracks of My Tears"), and the mid-tempo orchestral epic ("My Girl Has Gone"). "Choosey Beggar" is one of the sweetest of all Robinson's lead vocals, with stunning background work by the rest of the Miracles. Even the album tracks shine, with "All That's Good" and "Let Me Have Some" working as excellent additions to the program. 

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.