Pee Wee Russell : New Groove

Pee Wee Russell : New Groove


Pee Wee Russell (clarinet), Marshall Brown (trombone), Russell George (bass), Ron Lundberg (drums)

Columbia 8785

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - My Mother's Eyes
A2 - Chelsea Bridge
A3 - Red Planet
A4 - Pee Wee's Blues
B1 - Moten Swing
B2 - 'Round Midnight
B3 - Good Bait
B4 - Old Folks
B5 - Taps Miller

Recorded on November 12 and December 4, 1962 in New York City.

Clarinetist Pee Wee Russell's career on record stretched all the way from the 1920s, when he played with musicians such as Jack Teagarden and Bix Beiderbecke, to the 1960s, when he appeared with Thelonious Monk at Newport and made albums that included compositions by modernists such as Ornette Coleman and John Coltrane.

Although he was pegged as being Dixieland by some and trumpeted as an elder hero for the '60s avant-garde by others, Russell remained a school unto himself. Jazz writer Whitney Balliett said that Russell played with an incomparable "daring and nakedness and intuition...he had discovered some of the secrets of life and his improvisations were generally successful attempts to tell those secrets in a new, funny, gentle way."

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.