Paganini : Diabolus in Musica

Paganini : Diabolus in Musica


Salvatore Accardo, violin, with Charles Dutoit conducting the London Philharmonic Orchestra (1975)

Deutsche Grammophon DGG 289477649

Clearaudio Records : 2 LPs 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

Niccolo Paganini (1782-1840) :
1 - La Risata Del Diavolo (temo)
2 - La Campanella
3 - Capriccio for Solo Violin No. 5
4 - Adagio Flebile Con Sentimento
5 - Rondo Galante. Andantino Gaio
6 - Introduction and Variation on God Save the King, Op. 9
7 - Capriccio for Solo Violin No. 24
8 - Polacca. Andatino Vivace
9 - Cappriccio for Solo Violin No. 1
10 - Rondo. Allegro Spirituoso
11 - Capriccio for Solo Violin No. 13
12 - Sonata Moto Perpetuo

Recorded in January 1975 at Barking Town Hall, London

Although famed as a conductor, teacher and performer of a vast repertoire, Salvatore Accardo is best known as a master of the works of Niccolo Paganini. His playing is characterized by a taut, visceral tone and a disciplined musical approach that avoids self-indulgence. Accardo is considered one of the most accomplished and influential musicians of his generation. Diabolus in Musica is a Deutsche Grammaphon compilation of Accardo's masterful performances of Paganini concerto movements and caprices. Accardo's Stradivarius sounds supple, warm and incredibly clean. The support of the London Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Charles Dutoit highlight the lead instrument, allowing listeners to fully immerse themselves in Accardo's transcendent technique. Clearaudio's close association with Deutsche Grammaphon allows LP lovers to experience one of the great performances of Paganini's violin works ever recorded!