Oscar Pettiford : Volume 2

Oscar Pettiford : Volume 2


Donald Byrd, Ernie Royal (trumpet), Bob Brookmeyer (trombone), Gigi Gryce (alto sax, clarinet), Jerome Richardson (tenor sax, clarinet, flute), Don Abney (piano), Oscar Pettiford (bass, cello), Osie Johnson (drums)

Bethlehem 33

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Kamman's A'Comin'
A2 - Minor Seventh Heaven
A3 - Stardust
A4 - Bohemia After Dark
B1 - Oscalypso
B2 - Scorpio
B3 - Titoro
B4 - Don't Squawk
B5 - Another One

Recorded on August 12, 1955 in New York City.

Oscar Pettiford became a major influence on a number of jazz artists along with fellow bassists Jimmy Blanton and Charles Mingus. This album titles as "Volume 2" or "Another One", Pettiford's third album as a leader for the Bethlehem label, was recorded in 1955. This exceptional date features the horns of Donald Byrd, Ernie Royal, Bob Brookmeyer, Gigi Gryce, and Jerome Richardson.

Highlights include the Pettiford-penned "Bohemia After Dark", named after the club in Greenwich Village and acknowledged as a jazz standard, "Stardust", featuring Pettiford's poetic bass faintly accompanied by pianist Don Abney, and "Minor Seventh Heaven", with Pettiford switching to cello. This is not just a bebop date; Pettiford had the range to incorporate influences like Duke Ellington and calypso, creating a full, lyrical band sound that matched his bass playing. Pettiford's legacy was cut short after he passed away suddenly in 1958 in Copenhagen at the age of 37.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.