Oscar Peterson : West Side Story

Oscar Peterson : West Side Story


Oscar Peterson (piano), Toots Thielemans (harmonica), Ray Brown (bass), Ed Thigpen (drums)

Recorded in 1962

Verve 8454

Analogue Productions - Quality Records : 2 LPs 200 gram (45rpm)

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

1. Something's Coming
2. Somewhere
3. Jet Song
1. Tonight
2. Maria
3. I Feel Pretty
4. Reprise

Recorded January 24 & 25, 1962 in New York City.

West Side Story was a bit of an unusual session for several reasons. First, the popularity of both the Broadway musical and the film version that followed meant that there were many records being made of its music. Second, rather than woodshed on the selections prior to entering the studio, the Oscar Peterson Trio spontaneously created impressions of the musical's themes on the spot. "Something's Coming" seems like a series of vignettes, constantly shifting its mood, as if moving from one scene to the next. Ray Brown plays arco bass behind Peterson in the lovely "Somewhere," while the feeling to "Jet Song" is very hip in the trio's hands. The snappy interplay between the musicians in the brisk setting of "Tonight" turns it into a swinger. "Maria" initially has a light, dreamy quality, though it evolves into a solid groove. The romp through "I Feel Pretty" is full of humor, while the album closes with a brief reprise of several themes from the musical to wrap the session with a flourish.