Oscar Peterson : We Get Request

Oscar Peterson : We Get Request


Oscar Peterson (piano), Ray Brown (bass), Ed Thigpen (drums)

Recorded in 1962

Verve 8454

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)
A2 - The Days of Wine and Roses
A3 - My One and Only Love
A4 - People
A5 - Have You Met Miss Jones?
B1 - You Look Good To Me
B2 - The Girl From Ipanema
B3 - D & E
B4 - Time and Again
B5 - Goodbye J.D.

Recorded October 19-20 and November 20, 1964 at RCA Studios in New York City.

We Get Request is Oscar Peterson's last of his fourteen-year work with Verve Records. 

This 1964 studio session features the Peterson trio with bassist Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen, a group that had been together for five years by then and performed like a well-oiled machine. The repertoire is mostly pop songs of the day, including bossa nova tunes and film themes, and the treatments are fairly brief, with emphasis placed squarely on the melodies. Even in their lightest moments, though, the group demonstrates some of the qualities that made it among the most influential piano trios in jazz, a group that could generate tremendous rhythmic energy and a sense of developing musical detail. For all his legendary force, Peterson possesses a subtle rhythmic sense, and here he infuses even "People" with an undercurrent of swing.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com. All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.