Oscar Peterson : Night Train

Oscar Peterson : Night Train


Oscar Peterson (piano), Ray Brown (bass), Ed Thigpen (drums)

Verve 8438

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Night Train
A2 - C Jam Blues
A3 - Georgia On My Mind
A4 - Bags' Groove
A5 - Moten Swing
A6 - Easy Does It
B1 - Honey Dripper
B2 - Things Ain't What They Used To Be
B3 - I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
B4 - Band Call
B5 - Hymn To Freedom

Recorded on December 15 & 16, 1962 in Los Angeles.

Oscar Peterson thoroughly assimilated not just every piano style that preceded him but every ensemble idiom as well : swinging big bands, gospel, european classical, and, of course, the blues. Having mastered all of this, Peterson found the standard piano trio the perfect vehicle for exploring all of these types of music. On this classic record, the crowning achievement in his greatest year, Peterson doesn't just explore these styles, he conquers them.

Accompanied by bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen, Peterson interprets upbeat (C-Jam Blues), balladic (Georgia on My Mind), and swinging (Bags’ Groove) material with incredible pizzazz, an attractive combination of vitality and glamour.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com