Mighty Sam McClain : Give It Up To Love

Mighty Sam McClain : Give It Up To Love


Mighty Sam McClain (vocals), Bennie Wallace (tenor sax), Kevin Barry (guitar), Bruce Katz (piano, organ), Michael Rivard (bass), Lorne Entress (drums)

AudioQuest 1015

Analogue Productions - Quality Records : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Give It Up To Love
A2 - Too Proud
A3 - What You Want Me To Do
A4 - Here I Go Falling In Love Again
A5 - Got To Have Your Love
B1 - Child of The Mighty Mighty
B2 - I'm Tired of These Blues
B3 - I Feel Good
B4 - Don't Turn Back Now
B5 - Lonesome Road

Recorded in 1992 (analogue recording)

Mighty Sam is a rhythm and blues legend who shook up the blues world with this 1993 release. The great torch bearer of deep soul is caught in top form on this classic album. And now, this gatefold 331/3 200-gram edition presented by Analogue Productions makes the album even greater! The pressing sounds spectacular - a hefty 200-gram masterpiece from Quality Record Pressings, a state-of-the-art LP pressing plant. And the gatefold jacket is hard-core, old-school style — thick cardboard, tip-on, with additional photos and liner notes inside. 

"McClain sings soul with incredible power — he knows when to pull the punches and when to cool it down. Give It Up to Love, the title track, acknowledges his gospel roots; he performs it as a vocal prayer to God asking for wisdom, love, and strength. Bruce Katz's contributions on B-3 Hammond organ expands McClain's sound, particularly on the 'Green Onions'-influenced 'What You Want Me to Do.' The sparsely effective arrangement on 'Here I Go Falling in Love Again' brings McClain up front as he cries of being a soul stripped to the bare bones. Kevin Barry's funky bass blows while McClain declares himself as a child of God in 'Child of the Mighty Mighty.'" — All Music Guide.

"Give It Up To Love is the R&B comeback of the year." — Rolling Stone

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Kevin Gray at Sterling Sound, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.