Les McCann : But Not Really

Les McCann : But Not Really


Les McCann (piano), Victor Gaskin (bass), Paul Humphrey (drums)

Recorded in 1964

Limelight 86016

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - But Not Really
A2 - A Little Three-Four
A3 - Out Delight
A4 - Sweetie
B1 - We're On The Move Now
B2 - Jack V. Schwartz
B3 - Little Freak
B4 - Yours Is My Heart Alone

Recorded December 1964 at Radio Recorders in Hollywood.

One man comes to mind when the words 'funk' and 'fun' are connected with a jazz musician: Les McCann. The man from Kentucky, self-taught and a true heavyweight on the delicate piano stool, dedicated his whole life on the road to performing funk. He was highly successful – whether playing with his trio or with Eddie Harris, as a pianist or as a singer, in a club or on a big stage – and he always succeeded in captivating his audience.

On "But Not Really", the first of seven LPs on the Limelight label, he plays in a trio with Victor Gaskin on the bass and Paul Humphrey on drums. The three musicians were carefully guided by their producer, Jack Tracy and the liner notes describes their close collaboration. "A Little Three-Four" is highly recommended listening, as is "Yours Is My Heart Alone" which fans of Lehar’s operettas will enjoy singing along to while others will appreciate the fantastic improvisations in this popular piece which Les McCann performs less showily than Oscar Peterson in his version but with more humour and emotion.

This Limelight album offers piano trio jazz that is free from intellectual encumbrance – it is jazz for the soul.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com. All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.