Mahavishnu Orchestra : The Inner Mounting Flame

Mahavishnu Orchestra : The Inner Mounting Flame


Mahavishnu Orchestra : John McLaughlin (guitar), Jan Hammer (piano), Jerry Goodman (vibraphone), Rick Laird (bass), Billy Cobham (drums)

Columbia 31067

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Meeting of The Spirits
A2 - Dawn
A3 - The Noonward Race
A4 - A Lotus On Irish Streams
B1 - Vital Transformation
B2 - The Dance of Maya
B3 - You Know You Know
B4 - Awakening

Recorded on August 14, 1971 at Columbia Studios in New York City.

The Inner Mounting Flame is the debut studio album by jazz-rock fusion band Mahavishnu Orchestra.

The liner notes for The Inner Mounting Flame were written by the guru Sri Chinmoy – now that’s a real sales point! The music too burns right from the very first note to the last as though it were licked by the flames of hell fire. The wealth of ideas, sheer vitality and supreme soloistic virtuosity of the five top-notch musicians from four different countries is absolutely first class. In addition there is their truly dreamlike interplay; one could say they were born and grew up with the same 'spirit'. "Meeting Of The Spirit", "The Dance Of Maya" and "You Know You Know" are the highlights of this first Mahavishnu Orchestra.

Aspiration – struggle, hope and desire – is seen as an inner mounting flame which takes man towards 'divine perfection'. Well, opinions differ of course. But what is certain is that this music from 1971 is still amazingly fresh and creative even 47 years later – and luckily it is available once again in the form of a vinyl disc.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under