Hank Mobley Quartet

Hank Mobley Quartet


Hank Mobley (tenor sax), Horace Silver (piano), Doug Watkins (bass), Art Blakey (drums) 

Blue Note 5066

Music Matters Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45rpm)

Limited edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Hank's Prank
A2 - My Sin
B1 - Avila And Tequila
B2 - Walkin' The Fence
C1 - Love For Sale
C2 - Just Coolin'
D1 - Walkin' The Fence - alt. take
D2 - Hank's Prank - alt. take

Recorded on March 27, 1955, at Rudy Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, New Jersey.

Hank Mobley Quartet is Hank Mobley's debut album, released on the Blue Note label.

Hank Mobley was not just a master of hard bop but one of its founders. With the Jazz Messengers and Horace Silver's Quintet, he helped to define the role of the tenor in hard bop, and his series of Blue Note recordings made him an influential force for 15 years. Originally a pianist, Mobley switched to tenor when he was 16, and by the early 1950s was a member of Max Roach's quartet. Mobley was with Dizzy Gillespie's group during 1954 before becoming an original member of the Jazz Messengers. At the time of this album, his first as a leader, Mobley was already a masterful player. Joined by both Horace Silver and Art Blakey, Mobley performs some of his best early material (including "Hank's Prank," "Avila and Tequila" and "Just Coolin'") and sets the standard for hard bop tenors of the next decade. The Hank Mobley Quartet is one of the most important early hard bop albums, a gem that shows why Mobley would be a regular Blue Note artist for the next 15 years.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

Like all Music Matters Jazz releases, this audiophile vinyl reissue is remastered from the original analogue Van Gelder studio tapes and pressed on 180g virgin vinyl at RTI. The highest quality gatefold cover features original session photography on the inside.

limited edition.png