Gerry Mulligan & Chet Baker

Gerry Mulligan & Chet Baker


Gerry Mulligan (baritone sax), Chet Baker (trumpet), Ed Byrne (trombone), Bob James (piano), John Scofield (guitar), Dave Samuels (vibraphone, percussion), Ron Carter (bass), Harvey Mason (drums)

CTI 6054/5

Speakers Corner Records : 2 LPs 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Line for Lyons
A2 - (Song) For an Unfinished Woman
B1 - My Funny Valentine
B2 - Song for Strayhorn
C1 - It's Sandy at the Beach
C2 - Bernie's Tune
D1 - K-4 Pacific
D2 - There Will Never Be Another You

Recorded on November 24, 1974 live at Carnegie Hall in New York by Rudy Van Gelder.

Performing together, Mulligan and Baker created one of the most unique sounds in jazz. Their live performances and quartet recordings in the early 1950s helped define West Coast Jazz. Over the years, the two reunited on several occasions for record or concert dates. The Carnegie Hall concert from November of 1974 was their final reunion.  

The concert received deserved praise—both Mulligan and Baker were in top form. Their backing band was quite a departure for them, with standout performances from, among others, Bob James on piano, Ron Carter on bass and a young John Scofield playing guitar. The Recorded by Record Plant engineers and remixed by Rudy Van Gelder; the album had none of the Creed Taylor overproduction that sometimes weighs down CTI releases.  Playing to a crowd seeking nostalgia, the group stuck in large part to tunes associated with the 1950s quartet. Like many Carnegie Hall concerts, the recorded sound is exceptional.  Remastered for Speakers Corner by Willem Makkee, the music sounds as fresh as the 1974 original and the flawless Pallas pressing improves on the original by a generous margin. 

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under