Charlie Mariano : New Sounds from Boston

Charlie Mariano : New Sounds from Boston


Charlie Mariano (alto sax), Jim Clark (tenor sax), George Meyers (baritone sax), Joe Gordon (trumpet), Sonny Truitt (trombone), Ray Frazee (piano), Jack Lawler (bass), Gene Glennon (drums)

Prestige 130 & 153

Concord Records : LP 160 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Boston Uncommon (Master A)   
A2 - Boston Uncommon (Master B)
A3 - The Wizard (Master A)
A4 - The Wizard (Master B)
A5 - Mariners
A6 - Aviary
A7 - Tzoris
A8 - Autumn in New York
B1 - Bye Bye Blues
B2 - I'm Old Fashioned
B3 - Erosong
B4 - Bess You Is My Woman Now
B5 - Barsac
B6 - Stella By Starlight

Side A : Previously issued as "The New Sounds From Boston With Charlie Mariano" - Prestige P 130 (10")
Side B : Previously issued as "Boston All Stars" - Prestige P 153 (10")

"Although his first recording work, done as featured soloist with Nat Pierce's band, caused a stir in his native Boston and other eastern areas, it wasn't until the New Sounds From Boston LP that the talents of Charlie Mariano as composer, arranger and alto soloist were introduced to the jazz public at large, all over the country.

The response to this album was very warm from critics and fans alike and in answer to this enthusiasm, Prestige is presenting Charlie Mariano once again. Here, however, the group he heads is a quintet as opposed to the octet of the first album. This, plus the fact that the sides were recorded with LP in mind, allowed the soloists more time and greater freedom." - from the original liner notes by Ira Gitler

Recorded in 1951

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.