Charles Mingus : The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady

Charles Mingus : The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady


Charlie Mariano, Eric Dolphy (alto sax), Dick Hafer, Booker Ervin (tenor sax, flute), Jerome Richardson (baritone sax, soprano sax), Richard Williams, Rolf Ericson, Eddie Preston (trumpet), Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman (trombone), Don Butterfield (tuba), Jake Byard (piano), Jay Berliner (guitar), Charles Mingus (drums), Dannie Richmond, Walter Perkins (drums)

Impulse 35

Analogue Productions Records : 2 LPs 180 gram (45rpm)

Limited edition : 2,500 printings

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A - Solo Dancer - "Stop! Look! And Listen, Sinner Jim Whitney!"
B - Duet Solo Dancers - "Hearts' Beat and Shades in Physical Embraces"
C - Group Dancers - "Freewoman and Oh, This Freedom's Slave Cries"
D1 - Trio and Group Dancers
D2 - Single Solos and Group Dance
D3 - Group and Solo Dance - "Stop! Look! And Sing Songs of Revolutions!"
D4 - Group and Solo Dance - "Saint and Sinner Join in Merriment on Battle Front"
D5 - Group and Solo Dance - "Of Love, Pain, and Passioned Revolt, then Farewell, My Beloved, 'til It's Freedom Day"

Recorded on January 20, 1963, in New York City.

The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady consists of a single continuous composition (partially written as a ballet) divided into four tracks and six movements. Each composition, from the opening "Solo Dancer" to the closing "Group and Solo Dance" was a musical expression of Mingus' philosophy of life, love and the world around him. To the legendary bassist, this recording was so personal that he asked his friend, clinical psychologist Dr. Pollack, to review the music. As Dr. Pollack stated in the original liner notes: "Psychologists interpret behavior... why not apply this skill to music." Dr. Pollack did just that, interpreting the Mingus message inherent in his music - music that speaks of the artists' yearning for love, peace and freedom.

The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady is among the most acclaimed jazz records of the 20th century. Richard Cook and Brian Morton, writers of The Penguin Guide to Jazz, awarded the album a "Crown" token, the publication's highest accolade, in addition to the highest four-star rating. Steve Huey of AllMusic awards The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady five stars out of five and describes the album as "one of the greatest achievements in orchestration by any composer in jazz history."

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray at AcousTech, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on virgin vinyl at RTI.