Ann Peebles : Straight from the Heart

Ann Peebles : Straight from the Heart


Recorded in 1971

Memphis Sound 32065

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Slipped, Tripped and Fell In Love
A2 - Trouble, Heartaches & Sadness
A3 - What You Laid On Me
A4 - How Strong Is A Woman
A5 - Somebody's On Your Case
B1 - I Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody's Home Tonight
B2 - I've Been There Before
B3 - I Pity The Fool
B4 - 99 Pounds
B5 - I Take What I Want

Recorded in August 1971 at Royal Recording Studios in Memphis, Tennessee.

Straight From The Hearty has certainly not mellowed with age. Ann Peebles' singing is sharp and soulful, and comes right from the heart ("Slipped, Tripped And Fell In Love"). The beat is powerful, throbbing, young and fresh ("What You Laid On Me") or surging and groovy ("How Strong Is A Woman?"). The arrangements come across as sophisticated and well balanced, yet do not baulk at harsh attacks from the winds nor from the use of Hammond and Hohner keyboards, which were so popular at that time. Melody, singers and big band are airy and finely interwoven ("Somebody’s On Your Case"), while a fusion of soft swing and snappy acerbity ("I Pity The Fool") rounds off this album which is filled with pure emotion, heart and soul.

"A lean, tough set that was not only a triumph for Peebles, but illustrated how the Hi label had surpassed its crosstown Stax rival for quality Memphis soul in the early '70s..." - Richie Unterberger, AllMusic.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under