Ann Peebles : I can't stand the rain

Ann Peebles : I can't stand the rain


Hi Records 32079

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - I Can't Stand The Rain
A2 - Do I Need You
A3 - Until You Came Into My Life
A4 - (You Keep Me) Hangin' On
A5 - Run, Run, Run
B1 - If We Can't Trust Each Other
B2 - A Love Vibration
B3 - You Got To Feed The Fire
B4 - I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down
B5 - One Way Street

Recorded in 1973 at Royal Recording Studios in Memphis, Tennessee.

Perhaps because seven out of the ten songs here were written by Ann (in collaboration with her husband, singer-songwriter Donald Bryant, and several others), I Can't Stand the Rain feels like her most personal album. It's quieter, less aggressive than much of Ann's previous work, but no less assured. With her marvelous raw honey voice - so wispy sweet it breaks, then so full and hard it's chilling - she can be both tough and tender, sometimes in the same song. But whether heartbroken or joyous, righteously vengeful or disillusioned, Ann Peebles always has a strength, a personal fire that makes each song glow from deep inside. 

"This wonderful album, originally released in 1974 on the Memphis-based Hi Records label, deserved a wider audience than it ended up getting at the time. It played to Ann Peebles' great strength, her poised and sultry voice, and surrounded by the sparse, easy funkiness of the trademark Hi rhythm section and producer Willie Mitchell's perfect use of horns and strings, she sings like a resilient but disappointed angel on this impressive set of songs about the darker side of love. Her best song is here, the eccentric but brilliant "I Can't Stand the Rain," along with a marvelous version of Joe Simon's "(You Keep Me) Hangin' On," and perfect readings of a pair of Earl Randle songs, "If We Can't Trust Each Other" and "I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down." Peebles sings her heart out, and with those somehow bright-sounding Hi grooves behind her, it all comes together to make a classic album of dark, bouncy, and beautiful Southern soul." - Steve Leggett, AMG.

 This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under