Tubby Hayes : New Groove

Tubby Hayes : New Groove


Tubby Hayes (tenor sax), Terry Shannon (piano), Jeff Clyne (bass), Phil Seamen (drums)

Recorded in 1959

Candid 9554

Pure Pleasure Records :  LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - Tin Tin Deo
A2 - Visa
A3 - Supper at Phil's
B1 - Symphony
B2 - Hook's Way
B3 - The Trolley Song

Over the past decade there has been a small avalanche of previously unreleased live recordings by the late, great Tubby Hayes, arguably the UKs most accomplished post-war jazz instrumentalist and a figure already accorded - quite rightly - legendary status. Each has added much to our knowledge of Tubby's musical activities outside the recording studio, but this new release unearths a session which had lain forgotten since 1959 and which significantly is an addendum to what has long been seen as Tubby's first album masterpiece Tubby's Groove. Indeed the music contained on this LP is among the most significant pieces of British jazz history to have been discovered in a long, long time.