The Genius of Coleman Hawkins

The Genius of Coleman Hawkins


Coleman Hawkins (tenor sax), Oscar Peterson (piano), Herb Ellis (guitar), Ray Brown (bass), Alvin Stoller (drums)

Verve 6033

Speakers Corner Records :  LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - I'll Never Be The Same
A2 - You're Blasé 
A3 - I Wished on the Moon
A4 - How Long Has This Been Going On?
A5 - Like Someone In Love
A6 - My Melancholy Baby
B1 - I'ii Wind
B2 - In a Mellow Tone
B3 - There's No You
B4 - The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise
B5 - Somebody Loves Me
B6 - Blues for Rene

Recorded on October 16, 1957 at Capitol Studios in Hollywood.

The trench warfare over the two very different playing styles of Lester Young and Coleman Hawkins came to an end with the date of this recording. At the Jazz At The Philharmonic concerts the two musicians even stood on the stage together. Following up on these JATP live events, the recording company Verve brought the rhythm group and “Hawk” into the studio, the standard numbers were well-known and well-practised, the recording equipment was all set up and off they went.
Just listen to the fabulous flow of improvisation – it was not first with this recording that Coleman Hawkins proved that he was the first tenor saxophonist who knew how turn into music what he heard in his head. And then he has this gloriously warm yet thrilling sound; no matter whether it’s a slow tempo or a racy piece, “Hawk” remains superb, always recognisable and always an individualist. In the way he constructs his improvisations, one has the feeling that it just has to be like that, that there’s no other path to follow.
The rhythm group deserves nothing but praise too. Or have you ever heard of a recording session where Peterson, Brown, Ellis and Stoller fail to add their own particular fire to pep up the soloist in the fast sections? The famous four are almost even better, however, in the ballads: reserved yet still giving the beat, simply great! Don’t miss this opportunity to buy some real ‘highlights’: this LP certainly deserves its name.

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under