Stan Getz & Luiz Bonfa : Jazz Samba Encore!

Stan Getz & Luiz Bonfa : Jazz Samba Encore!


Stan Getz (tenor sax), Luiz Bonfa (guitar), Antonio Carlos Jobim (piano, guitar), George Duvivier, Tommy Williams, Don Payne (bass), Paulo Ferreira, Jose Carlos, Dave Bailey (drums), Maria Toledo (vocals)

Verve 8523

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Discontinued : last copy available!...

Add To Cart

A1 - Sambalero
A2 - S0 danco Samba (I only Dance Samba)
A3 - Insensatez (how insensitive)
A4 -  Morro Não Tem Vez (Favella)
A5 - Samba de Duas Notas (Two Note Samba, reference to Jobim's One Note Samba)
B1 - Menina Flor
B2 - Mania de Maria
B3 - Saudade Vem Correndo
B4 - Um Abração no Getz (A Tribute to Getz)
B5 - Ebony Samba

Recorded on February 8,9 and 27, 1963 at Webster Hall, New York City.

Jazz Samba Encore! is bossa nova in a slower groove. It contains a mix of Jobim standards as well as originals from Bonfá. Performers also include Antonio Carlos Jobim and vocalist Maria Toledo, Bonfá's wife. The painting on the cover is by Olga Albizu. 

The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under