Stacey Kent : The Boy Next Door

Stacey Kent : The Boy Next Door


Stacey Kent (vocals), Jim Tomlinson (tenor sax, clarinet, flute), Colin Oxley (guitar), David Newton (piano), Dave Chamberlain (bass), Matt Home (drums), Curtis Schwartz (backing vocals)

Candid 9993

Pure Pleasure Records : 2 LPs 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - The Best Is Yet To Come
A2 - The Boy Next Door
A3 - The Trolley Song
A4 - Que reste-t-Il De Nos Amours?
B1 - Say It Isn't So
B2 - Too Darn Hot
B3 - Makin' Whoopee
B4 - What The World Needs Now Is Love
C1 - You've Got A Friend
C2 - I Got It Bad
C3 - Ooh-Shoo-Be-Doo-Bee
C4 - People Will Say We're In Love
D1 - 'Tis Autumn
D2 - All I Do Is Dream of You
D3 - I Get Along Without You Very Well
D4 - You're The Top
D5 - Que Feras-Tu De Ta Vie?
D6 - Bookends

Recorded on February 18-22, 2003, at Curtis Schwartz Studios in Ardingly, England.

Stacey Kent’s unique, distinctive style could best be described as classic chic; the musical equivalent of the "little black dress". Just as the little black dress has the power to let a woman's personality shine through, Ms. Kent's delicately nuanced interpretations of the Great American Songbook eloquently showcase the complex melodies and classy, sophisticated lyrics of American popular music during its golden ages. Vocally, Stacey Kent has never sounded better. And there is so much to admire: her dulcet-toned mezzo soprano, with its shimmery jazz lilt and translucent vibrato, her innate sense of swing and instinctive timing, her subtly shaded line readings, and the exquisite delicacy of her phrasing. A master storyteller and communicator, Stacey also brings a comparative literature graduate's acute interpretive skills to her singing, eschewing shopworn sentimentality for a piquant romantic lyricism. "The Boy Next Door" is a heartfelt and reverent tribute to Kent's musical heroes, which include legendary crooners Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin, octogenarian jazz master Dave Brubeck and Manhattan cabaret doyen Bobby Short. The stylish jazz chanteuse's repertoire also finds her working outside the Great American Songbook for the first time, with contributions from latter-day pop songwriters Burt Bacharach, Paul Simon and Carole King. Ms. Kent puts her own indelible stamp on each number as she weaves her magic on a delectable collection of pop-jazz standards that encompass infatuation, seduction, love, loss and reminiscence. She receives impeccable support from her sleek, urbane jazz quintet, whose rhythmic fluency is further enhanced by the tasteful, literate arrangements. Newton and Tomlinson, both accomplished musicians in their own right, also display hitherto unknown musical talents as they join Curtis Schwartz to provide tongue-in-cheek backing vocals for Stacey's deliciously bouncy rendition of "Ooh-Shoo-Be-Doo-Bee". 

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.