Stacey Kent : Dreamville

Stacey Kent : Dreamville


Stacey Kent (vocals), Jim Tomlinson (tenor sax, clarinet, flute), Colin Oxley (guitar), David Newton (piano), Simon Thorpe (bass), Jasper Kviberg (drums)

Recorded in 2001

Candid 9775

Pure Pleasure Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

Add To Cart

A1 - I've Got A Crush On You
A2 - When Your Lover Has Gone
A3 - Isn't It A Pity?
A4 - You Are There
A5 - Under A Blanket Of Blue
A6 - Dreamsville
B1 - Polka Dots And Moonbeams
B2 - Hushabye Mountain
B3 - Little Girl Blue
B4 - You're Looking At Me
B5 - Violets For Your Furs
B6 - Thanks For The Memory

Recorded on June 19-21, 2000 at Curtis Schwartz Studios in Ardingly, England.

Dreamsville is Stacey Kent's fourth studio album.

Each time after listening to a new album from Stacey Kent, one concludes that this is the best she can get, she has finally reached the ultimate rung on her artistic ladder. But then one is surprised to find that she has just reached penultimate rung, because this next release is better. Such is the case with Dreamsville, an album of unabashedly slow, romantic, winsome and sometimes melancholy ballads that tug at the heartstrings. All of them are entries, some more major than others, in the Great American Songbook. All are treated to that special Kent intimate vocal style, the slight nasal quality, the use of vibrato to make a point. Her rendition of "Violets for Your Furs" should be the topic for one class in a jazz vocal course at music schools. The timing, the phrasing, the well-placed pause for effect, stretching out the end of a phrase, all help to make her interpretation of this tune one of the finest extant. The soulful tenor solo of husband Jim Tomlinson is icing on the cake. Kent manages to sound calm and urgent at the same time. The voice is relaxed, but the message with each song is "do something!".

One important factor which make her albums so consistently good and allows each one to get better is the presence of the sidemen Kent has become used to working with. Tomlinson and his reeds, of course. But Colin Oxley's guitar has also been along for each of the albums. Listen to his backing and solo on "You're Looking at Me". The same with pianist David Newton whose understated accompaniment fits Kent like a familiar glove. Newton is also the pianist of choice of another upper echelon singer from the UK, Tina May.

Stacey Kent has reached that pinnacle all singers strive for, irrespective of their musical genre, viz., you hear a couple of measures of her distinctive voice and you know at once who the voice belongs to, without being told. Vocal album of the year? Why not? Lyrics are printed in the liner notes.

This Pure Pleasure LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas.